From a Buick 8

from-a-buick-8.jpg

1.5 Stars

Oh, Stephen! You dissappoint me. You usually give me gripping tales of terror, or thoughtful insights into your methods, but this…no. I couldn’t stand this. I mean, it was no The Eight, but it’s not far off. I don’t even know how to describe it…Ok, imagine a good, scary book, then fill it with pages and pages and pages of super boring bits, and a badly formed scary bit, and you have this book. Oh, and take away the good part. Yep, that about sums it up.

So the story is basically this: a small town police station finds a Buick 8 which has a portal to an evil land in its trunk. The man who finds this car gets killed in surefire Stephen King fashion (I believe the words “skin peeled off” were used somewhere during the pages of description) , and his son joins the force to follow in his father’s footsteps. Each has an unfathomable interest in the Buick–which involves pages and pages of unreadable stories about dissecting aliens in dank bathrooms. It took me several tries to get through this book, and I finally just had to get the book on CD and listen while I was filling out evaluations for hours on end.

Overall, I didn’t like this book at all. Bleh bleh bleh bleh bleh. Yep, that is my final assesment.

–Adrienne

Published in: on March 1, 2008 at 9:18 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bibliophilists.wordpress.com/2008/03/01/from-a-buick-8/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

