The Wish

the-wish.gif

2 1/2 Stars

I had high hopes for this book. It was written by the same author who wrote “Ella Enchanted” and “The Princess Diaries” which were both award winners. However, this book fell a bit flat. It’s about an unpopular 8th grader who receives a wish from an old lady on the subway and ends up the most popular girl in school. It was meant to be a coming of age story, but I kinda hated it. Here’s the thing–I don’t really understand teenagers who long to be popular. I never really cared. Granted, I didn’t really like being laughed at in school, but then everyone was laughed at and I figured out very early on that if I was able to laugh at myself then I took their power away and I could do whatever I wanted. Just look at how I dress! It was much worse in Jr. High and High School, I assure you. Anyhow, I don’t understand the need to be popular. Nor do I understand how kids, especially those that have been on the receiving end before, can be randomly cruel to others. Can you guess what happens in this story? Yep, the previously-unpopular-now-popular girl is really, really mean to currently unpopular students. Granted, she learns her lesson and eventually learns the meaning of friendship and that those who are popular really aren’t all that great blah blah blah, but it was so damn painful to read most of the book that I hated it. At least she learned her lesson.

Published in: on July 17, 2007 at 7:54 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bibliophilists.wordpress.com/2007/07/17/the-wish/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

