The Van Gogh Assignment

4 Stars

I find a lot of biographies very boring. This one, however, was great. Van Gogh is one of my favorite artists, and the author of this book decided to try and research Van Gogh’s life by visiting little-known places the artist frequented. The result is an interesting look at the artist’s life without reiterating all the information that has already been written. It’s the first book on Van Gogh that I’ve read, and it sets a high bar for other biographies.

–Adrienne

Published in: on July 17, 2007 at 10:26 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bibliophilists.wordpress.com/2007/07/17/the-van-gogh-assignment/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. If you like Van Gogh, I would highly…HIGHLY recommend ‘Lust For Life’ by Irving Stone.

    I’m not even a huge Van Gogh fan, though I do like quite a few of his works and can appreciate how unique his style was at the time.

    But now after reading ‘Lust For Life’ I see him as a passionate, naive, striking, powerful man. I loved it.


Leave a Reply

